Float On

A lot has happened since my last post, most of it good. I'm still adjusting to the new job, and I find that I like it a lot overall. The Switchgrass Review accepted my short piece "Okay" for publication this fall. I booked my flight for Dragon Con. I joined a wine club. And my sister and I spent a lazy afternoon floating down the Guadalupe River.

In contrast, I woke to thunder and lightning this morning. It's been storming nonstop since. I got to put the raincoat I bought for my Coraline cosplay to its intended use.

I signed up for OwlCrate a while back, and I've gotten a couple boxes since. I find that it gets my Librarian Gears turning. I'm taking over our Family Fun program this fall, and I'm looking forward to doing some fun STEAM activities. There are a lot of professionals development opportunities on the horizon for me, including an appearance at the Louisiana Book Festival to talk podcasting. Exciting times!

I can't pretend it's all sunshine and roses. I've been struggling with some self-doubt, and if I try to think too far ahead I get a pounding headache. The Alexandria Archives are on hiatus while we all deal with real-life commitments, but we are working on content while we're on break. And that's all we can do – keep working. Float on, even through the rapids and the shallow bits with the slimy rocks.

Leave a Reply

