Bright Sides

The weather has cooled down in South Texas, at least for the time being. Taking advantage of another WordPress prompt to try to be productive. 2016 has been something of a horror show. As excited as I am that the podcast has come to fruition, it’s hard to find things to get excited about. Enthusiasm is in rare supply these days. I’m not entering 2017 with a lot of optimism thus far. But there are a few things I’m looking forward to, little nuggets of gold on the B side that is my life.

In a few months I’ll be heading to a certain Wizarding World of wonder with some good friends, which I’m pretty pleased about. I’ve begun assembling a suitably Ravenclaw (because what other house would I belong to?) wardrobe, hoping that the Great Floridian Gods see fit to grace us with some decent weather.

Also pending friendly climes is my first camping trip in April. I’ve never done anything but pitch a tent in the backyard and head inside when the mosquitoes got bitey, so this is going to be an entirely new experience with a crowd I’m still sort of getting to know. It’s either going to be great, or a disaster. Crossing my fingers for the former.

My younger sister is graduating from high school, and she’s already been accepted to some good universities. We’re planning to take a Sister Trip to celebrate the event. While it’s looking like we’ll have to downgrade from International Shenanigans to something stateside, I’m still excited for us to spend time together.

I’ve found a couple local writing groups that I’m going to enjoy meeting with throughout the year. While attendance has apparently waxed and waned as folks move or find themselves too busy with life, I feel like we’ve got a great crowd together. And I’m going to be taking a Creative Writing course, which will hopefully inspire me to be further productive and provide me with some valued feedback.

And with luck, I’ll be visiting friends in Atlanta again later in the year – if not for DragonCon and cosplay fun, at least for the eating of pie and good food. And that’s never a bad thing.

For now, I content myself with my everyday work of librarian’ing and acting as designated cat-warmer. It’s been a hell of a year, but I’m hoping everyone can find something to look forward to with a new beginning. And if you haven’t – make it happen. Change starts with you, right?

Leave a Reply

