Conception

Another day, another daily prompt from the kind folks at wordpress.

And it shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone that this post is, yet again, about the Alexandria Archives podcast.

Hey, the mommy bloggers get to blog about their children – why can’t I blog about mine? And it’s a special week for the Archives. For one thing, we were accepted to the Google Play store, which means we can be downloaded properly by Android users! Huzzah! It was a timely development, seeing as we went ahead and dropped our Halloween special early. My baby is officially two whole episodes old. I feel like such a proud…creator? I guess if this was anything like a mommy blog, I’d be more of a Dr. Frankenstein.

The Alexandria Archives was born from scraps of material shamelessly pilfered from projects coddled, then abandoned over the years. In its very earliest days it was just the Kings Library in a story I started back in undergrad, almost ten years ago now. Wow, I feel old. Alexandria University as an institution came tumbling along not long after, like Jaime Lannister clinging to Cersei’s ankle, only less gross and murderous. It’s carried me through two years of NaNoWriMo and countless nights spent scowling over a mug of lukewarm coffee. It’s the idea that wouldn’t be, but wouldn’t let me be.

I’m a novelist at heart, I say unironically, as if I’ve ever published a novel. Completed one, certainly, more than one! But I’m terrible at revising my own work. Which is to say, I tear it to shreds and bury it out back before anyone notices. This is getting a little gruesome, isn’t it? I write horror for a reason, folks. But the fact is, while I still hold out hope for finishing the AU novels (yes, novelS) someday, I had a story that needed to be told. It’s fitting that it became our secondary tagline – Have You Got a Story to Tell? – because we all did.

I had AU. Aaron had his beloved comic characters. And Uri is apparently a never-ending fount of ideas, each burning brighter than the last. Putting our ideas together into something admittedly monstrous but pleasantly functional was a means of survival. And wouldn’t you know, it worked? For all that the road to “Service Call” dragged, limping all the while, we got there. “House Painting on Halloween” came along nearly twice as quickly. I’d like to believe eventually we’ll have the formula locked down. Whether or not we achieve any real success or a solid listener base, we’ll have something we can point to without hesitation and say “We made this.” Piecing the building blocks of our ideas into something new and wonderful will become second nature.

But that’s a story that’s yet to be told, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

